Shifting on a gMax 2 Single Extruder

Hey Everyone,

I am at a loss. My gMax 2 will not stop shifting layers mid print. Latest was a 35 hour print and it shifted halfway through. We are getting ready to just junk this machine because 9/10 prints fail. I have tried switching from Cura to Simplify3D. I have tries checking all electrical connections. I tried the trouble shooting for stepper motors.

What I honestly need to understand is my printer profile. I use Simplify3D, Atomic PLA, and I upload to my Astroprint cloud where I can monitor my print. Everytime I use Astroprint it says my printer profile doesn't match. I don't know what to do or where to go from here. I am an engineer trying to use this for some alpha modeling, I don't have time to become the 3D printing expert.

Here are some examples of failed prints from the last two weeks. Can someone tell me EXACTLY what to set up for Simplify3D in order to eliminate this problem?

Thanks
Tyler

IMG_0083.jpg IMG_0084.jpg IMG_0085.jpg IMG_0086.jpg IMG_0087.jpg

sp0d

Just a heads up that you aren't alone on this issue. We had to fight layer shifting on our 1.5XT+ as well. The good news is that we did manage to get our layer shifting in check, and hopefully it will only take one or two small tweaks for you too.

I have a couple of questions to try and narrow down on the issue.

1. Are the shifts always along one axis, or is it along both X and Y?
Your photos make it look like this is isolated to a single axis but want to check.​
2. Are you using the upgraded heated bed?
(I.E. Did it come with the plexi that you switched over?)​
"I am an engineer trying to use this for some alpha modeling, I don't have time to become the 3D printing expert."