New to 3D printing....

Hey everyone! Im new to 3D printing and excited about getting into this technology. I am a CNC machinist by day and a parts developer by night in the vintage automotive world. I have an aluminum foundry and am involved in patternmaking to create new products. I think the 3D printer can revolutionize my operation and give me a great advantage over my competition.

The gMax printer seems to be awesome with it's huge build platform, and from the videos i've watched, it seems to be very user friendly. One question that I have but never see addressed is this. Because of it huge build platform and potential giant parts you can make at one sitting, I know that at some point you face to possibility of running out of filament to feed the extruder while your making a part. So how does the printer react to this situation? Does it know it ran out of filament or just keeps running? Does it have a default that lets it pause while you add more filament? What if your away on an errand and you come back a few hours later? I've never seen this scenario explained on any 3D printer before and know this is something that has to happen at some point. Thanks in advance.

mwu

It will not know it ran out of filament, so if you calculate that you will not have enough for a print you will need to take action.

What I have done and what I hear most frequently is that when it has nearly run out, pause the print and swap out filament, then resume the print. You'll want to manually feed far enough to not have a gap in extrusion.

There are also ways to join / splice filament. See http://hackaday.com/2014/01/20/a-quick- ... or-prints/ you could splice the tail end of one spool to the start of another, but you'll need a larger spool to hold it all or only do it when it is low enough to add to the new spool.