Print issue

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the gmax community and I'm already having an issue. When I print the first layer of any print the printer doesn't extrude for the first couple of paces.

For example, it prints the 2 loops around the object. Moves in and starts printing the outline of the shape just fine, but once it starts the fill the bottom layer it doesn't extrude for the first couple of paces. I was assuming the gcode was backing the filament to far back but I can't find anything in the gcode.

What's really weird is if I print two parts it doesn't skip anything on the second part.

I'm using the Gmax 1.5 single extruder firmware, and slicer 1.1.7 configs from the download section of the website.

Thanks for the help

Is the extruder making a ticking sound when this is happening? If so, this is the extruder stepper skipping steps. Caused by too much resistance to the flow of plastic.

Also be aware, instead of the motor skipping steps it could grind filament. You will know this is happening if the drive grear is spinning but there is not any plastic being pulled through. Skipping steps is more likely.

I suspect that the bed is too close to the extruder near that corner. Preventing plastic from flowing out. Which means your bed is not as level as it should be.

I use this test print to help level my bed. I use this to dial it in after doing the procedure described in the build and calibration manual.

Hope this helps!
Kyle

Attachments

While the bed being too high could be the problem, the edge line of the part as well as the outer loop look like they printed fine. If the bed was too high it would seem that these would not print. I'll offer a some other possibilities.