Extreme layer shifting!

Hi, Im totally new to 3D printing and I have not been able to calibrate my printer. Every time I print something, the Y-axis is wrong by +/-.5 mm, and the error adds up. I am not sure if it is a motor/calibration error or a slic3r error because every time I try to change the infill to 100% linear or concentric and it doesnt change and it does it in a 30% honeycomb. (I have the latest slic3r, 1.1.7)

I have noticed when it does this too-fast-and-bad "honeycomb" the bed shakes a lot, so I thought the belts were not tight enough and maybe it was skipping a belt tooth; i tightened the belts and the rails and still happens. Then I thought the motors were getting too much power and tried to regulate the potentiometer on X and Y but the problem remained (But Im not sure how do I know what is enough power and what is too little aside from humming or hot motors). I also thought that it was the printing speed, tried to lower it but slic3r seems to just not change it and keeps executing it at the same speed and with the same honeycomb pattern.

I have a .35 mm hot end, I checked and it is correct on slic3r. I thought maybe it is because the plastic not getting hot enough, but I believe 200ºC should be enough

Any thoughts? Thanks for your help!

Rene

Attachments

mwu

It does sound like you may be having issues with slic3r if the settings you use aren't changing the print. Here are some things that may help.
  • Check that you have the latest slic3r settings from the downloads page (http://gcreate.com/downloads/slic3r-1-1-7-config-file/)
  • I suggest taking a look at the gCreate youtube videos for slic3r (https://www.youtube.com/user/gCreate3D). In particular slic3r tutorial part 1 and part 2.
  • Check that you have the latest firmware from the downloads page (for the original or the 1.5 gMax, whichever you have)