gmax1.5xt and simplfy3D

Any experimental tests or upgrades for the gMax printer will reside here. Check back for new ideas and to follow the progress.

gmax1.5xt and simplfy3D

Postby santiclause » Tue May 12, 2015 4:47 pm

Hello, I have purchased a gmax 1.5xt and currently waiting for it to arrive in the mail. I was wondering if simplyfy3D works with the gmax 1.5xt model. I saw that simplyfy 3D supports gmax1.5 model and I was curious if there was any difference or whatever due to the gmax 1.5xt model being 8 in higher...it shouldn't matter right, because they both use the same firmware?

Does simplyfy 3D work with a gmax 1.5xt printer? :D

thanks
These users thanked the author santiclause for the post (total 0):
santiclause
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 11:24 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: gmax1.5xt and simplfy3D

Postby mwu » Tue May 12, 2015 7:07 pm

Simplify 3D should work with the xt just fine. I didn't load any special configuration the first time I used S3D -- I manually defined the printer's layout / configuration. There are settings for the build volume in the preferences where X, Y, and Z dimensions can be defined.
These users thanked the author mwu for the post (total 0):
mwu
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 9:16 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: gmax1.5xt and simplfy3D

Postby santiclause » Tue May 12, 2015 8:47 pm

Hey, thanks for the responses. Yes I've downloaded the latest beta version of slic3r and saw the 3D tab and stuff... I didn't mess with it yet, as I just trying to familiarize myself with slicer programs and what settings can and should be changed to achieve the best results...I'll take a look at all the slicer programs slic3r, cura, and simplify 3d, and try to make a choice, although I can give simplify 3d a test run to see if I like it or not, all I have to go off of is videos and stuff... so it might be difficult to see if I would really like it or not.

Thanks again for answering my questions....

Kyle, I know this is the wrong spot to ask this but can you give me a link to the latest assembly instructions and manual for the gmax 1.5xt....I clicked on what I thought was the latest assembly instructions and got a 404 page error.

thanks.
These users thanked the author santiclause for the post (total 0):
santiclause
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 11:24 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: gmax1.5xt and simplfy3D

Postby santiclause » Tue May 12, 2015 10:57 pm

Thanks. So if I were to use simplify 3D which printer profile do I select? or which firmware would I tell it, or both?
These users thanked the author santiclause for the post (total 0):
santiclause
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 11:24 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: gmax1.5xt and simplfy3D

Postby mwu » Wed May 13, 2015 8:49 am

I understand that S3D has configurations for the gMax 1.5 (I think one from S3D was posted on this forum somewhere). If you load that one up, you can just change the z-axis height. It would be in the preferences under the machine tab.

They did not have a preset configuration when I started using S3D. The setup was pretty easy -- I went through the configuration assistant. Select "other" for printer then set the machine type to cartesian robot with Marlin firmware. Enter appropriate values for the rest of the settings like build volume for your printer. The y-axis should be flipped (you can check after finishing by going into the machine tab in preferences as described earlier).
These users thanked the author mwu for the post (total 0):
mwu
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 9:16 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: gmax1.5xt and simplfy3D

Postby santiclause » Thu May 14, 2015 2:34 pm

Ok, yea I believe it supports the gmax 1.5 now so I should just be able to select that profile and change the z axis to accommodate for the height like you said, and it should work...we'll give it a try when I get my printer.

thanks
These users thanked the author santiclause for the post (total 0):
santiclause
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 11:24 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: gmax1.5xt and simplfy3D

Postby santiclause » Sat May 16, 2015 7:16 pm

Ok, so I just purchased the simplify 3D there still is no preset option for gmax printer selection, so I did what you said selected "other" then selected the cartesian robot one with marlin firmware, set my dimensions in mm, 16''x16''x18'' and here's the question that I have right now. You said I need to select invert the Y....it looks like it's already "checked" do I need to "un check" it? and does everything look right to you so far?
These users thanked the author santiclause for the post (total 0):
Attachments
screenshot 181.JPG
santiclause
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 11:24 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: gmax1.5xt and simplfy3D

Postby santiclause » Sat May 16, 2015 7:53 pm

I'm a little confused...They say they support the gmax printers; however when I look for it in the printer selection menu it is not there...on their website it looks like it's clearly there. I've already checked to see if I have the latest version of simplify 3D and I do, so I was wondering if anyone could enlighten me on this.

Thanks.
These users thanked the author santiclause for the post (total 0):
Attachments
screenshot 182.JPG
santiclause
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 11:24 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: gmax1.5xt and simplfy3D

Postby santiclause » Sat May 16, 2015 8:14 pm

Also is there a way to save out multiple profiles...for example I want to have the option to select a profile for my gmax1.5xt printer and then when I want to use my flash forge creator pro dual extruder printer - I want to just be able to click a profile for that printer...is that possible, to be able to switch back and forth between printers with just a simple click between two printer profiles?
These users thanked the author santiclause for the post (total 0):
santiclause
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 11:24 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: gmax1.5xt and simplfy3D

Postby raykholo » Sat May 16, 2015 8:36 pm

The invert Y has to do with the virtual table view in Simplify, nothing to do with the printer.

I've done a lot of tuning but it does work out of the box. Just bed sizes and homing dir Y to max.

Image
These users thanked the author raykholo for the post (total 0):
Ray Kholodovsky
Owner | Cohesion3D
Cohesion3D.com
raykholo
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 6:19 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Next

Return to gMax Experimental Tests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest