New Gmax 1.5xt+ w/ E3D hotend. ISSUE !!!!!

Any experimental tests or upgrades for the gMax printer will reside here. Check back for new ideas and to follow the progress.

Re: New Gmax 1.5xt+ w/ E3D hotend. ISSUE !!!!!

Postby nopick » Thu Apr 28, 2016 10:14 pm

Great! Thank you.
These users thanked the author nopick for the post (total 0):
nopick
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 12:32 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: New Gmax 1.5xt+ w/ E3D hotend. ISSUE !!!!!

Postby RussJ » Fri Apr 29, 2016 1:50 pm

dunginhawk: Other than the temp issue did you have any difficulties swapping out the J-head with the E3D?

I just ordered the gMax 1.5xt+ w/ dual extruder and would like to upgrade to E3D as soon as feasible.
These users thanked the author RussJ for the post (total 0):
RussJ
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:07 pm
Location: Portland Oregon
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: New Gmax 1.5xt+ w/ E3D hotend. ISSUE !!!!!

Postby dunginhawk » Sat Apr 30, 2016 7:48 pm

Just had to print a new auto bed leveling bracket, as well as a new fan shroud (the e3d is about 7-10mm longer than the jhead)..
Its easy to wire up just replacing the spots where you removed the jhead from.
I connected the fan wires (for the cooling e3d fins) to the LED strip connection on the RJ45 terminal.
Except figuring out how exactly the fans all fit, etc, it worked easily.
Make sure to do a PID autotune before use.
These users thanked the author dunginhawk for the post (total 0):
dunginhawk
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 10:51 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: New Gmax 1.5xt+ w/ E3D hotend. ISSUE !!!!!

Postby nopick » Sun May 01, 2016 3:14 pm

Does the j head use the same thermistor as the E3D or did you have to change the thermistor selection in firmware?
These users thanked the author nopick for the post (total 0):
nopick
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 12:32 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: New Gmax 1.5xt+ w/ E3D hotend. ISSUE !!!!!

Postby nopick » Tue May 03, 2016 7:51 pm

gCreate wrote:We have added the E3d parts to the download section of the forum. Please email us if you have any issues. We are quite happy with them :D

Also check out the bltouch installation guide if you wish to use it with the E3d.


The E3D parts in the download section are listed as broken. Have they been taken down or is there something wrong?
These users thanked the author nopick for the post (total 0):
nopick
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 12:32 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: New Gmax 1.5xt+ w/ E3D hotend. ISSUE !!!!!

Postby GORDON.LAPLANTE » Tue May 10, 2016 5:07 pm

nopick wrote:
gCreate wrote:We have added the E3d parts to the download section of the forum. Please email us if you have any issues. We are quite happy with them :D

Also check out the bltouch installation guide if you wish to use it with the E3d.


The E3D parts in the download section are listed as broken. Have they been taken down or is there something wrong?



The links are fine but you have to login to download.
These users thanked the author GORDON.LAPLANTE for the post (total 0):
GORDON.LAPLANTE
Site Admin
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:04 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: New Gmax 1.5xt+ w/ E3D hotend. ISSUE !!!!!

Postby Jarhead » Tue May 10, 2016 5:49 pm

GORDON.LAPLANTE wrote:
nopick wrote:
gCreate wrote:We have added the E3d parts to the download section of the forum. Please email us if you have any issues. We are quite happy with them :D

Also check out the bltouch installation guide if you wish to use it with the E3d.


The E3D parts in the download section are listed as broken. Have they been taken down or is there something wrong?



The links are fine but you have to login to download.


viewtopic.php?f=12&t=589&p=2493&sid=8e9b1449fcefe09365c6762b33df6dea#p2493
These users thanked the author Jarhead for the post (total 0):
Jarhead
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 8:45 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: New Gmax 1.5xt+ w/ E3D hotend. ISSUE !!!!!

Postby davec3275 » Sun Sep 04, 2016 11:10 pm

Sorry for resurrecting an old thread, but I have a couple questions about upgrading to the E3D. In using the new bracket, do I need to change any other settings in the firmware to indicate that the sensor is now in a different location in relation to the hot end?

Also, are there special inserts on the bracket I need to purchase in order to insert the screws? I did not see anything about that in Gordon's video on the install.
These users thanked the author davec3275 for the post (total 0):
davec3275
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 1:19 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: New Gmax 1.5xt+ w/ E3D hotend. ISSUE !!!!!

Postby nopick » Tue Sep 06, 2016 10:40 pm

The screws on the stock bracket thread directly into the plastic. I redrew the part a couple mm shorter and increased the hole sizes to accept a 3mm heat set insert. The operation is smoother and the shorter mount keeps the springs from being nearly fully compressed. I still put a ziptie around the BL Touch and E3D to the BL Touch in a consistent position since i do not use the light bar / shroud.

http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1740054
These users thanked the author nopick for the post (total 0):
nopick
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 12:32 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Previous

Return to gMax Experimental Tests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest